Advisory Committee

When I announced the gift, I also announced that I would form an advisory committee of faculty, students, and staff that would give advice to me about ways that the complex could be renovated and re-imagined.

We need to think through how the Center can serve students from every school at Yale and become a crossroads for the campus, with creative programming that would augment the important social and intellectual activities of the residential colleges and each of the schools. Details about the aspirations for the Center are outlined in YaleNews.

The committee will study the facility and assess its possibilities, and I hope it will discuss what will make for a successful campus center for Yale. The deans and I are also eager for the Schwarzman Center Advisory Committee to organize ways to solicit input from students and others across the campus. We imagine that this can be achieved through focus groups and meetings in the residential colleges and in the graduate and professional schools as well as with other groups that have beneficial counsel to offer about the new Center.

My hope is that the Committee will submit its recommendations to me about the Schwarzman Center by the Thanksgiving recess. These recommendations will be a source of helpful advice as we consider plans for the space.

—Charge to the Committee from Peter Salovey

Committee Members

Lynn Cooley, Co-chair
Dean, Graduate School

Jonathan Holloway, Co-chair
Dean, Yale College

James Bundy
Dean, School of Drama

Susan Cahan
Senior Associate Dean for the Arts, Yale College

Melvin Chen
Deputy Dean, School of Music

Marvin Chun
Master, Berkeley College

Emily Coates
Assistant Professor Adjunct of Theater Studies, Yale College,
and Assistant Professor Adjunct of Directing, Yale School of Drama

Joe English, Yale College ‘17
YCC President, ex officio

Tyler Godoff, School of Management ‘16
GPSS representative

Kimberly Goff-Crews
Secretary & Vice President for Student Life

Robert Harper-Mangels
Assistant Dean, Graduate School

Martha Highsmith
Senior Advisor to the President & Provost

Burgwell Howard
Associate Vice President for Student Life & Dean, Student Engagement

Daniel Leibovic, Yale College 17
Undergraduate representative

Amanda Lerner, Slavic Language & Literature ‘18
GSA representative

Ree Ree Li, Yale College ‘16
Undergraduate representative

Linda Koch Lorimer
Senior Counselor to the President & Provost

Elizabeth “Mo” Mo, Pharmacology ‘18
GPSS President, ex officio

Skyler Ross, Yale College ‘16
Undergraduate representative

Cindy Rush, Statistics ‘16
GSA representative

Elizabeth Salm, Neuroscience ‘18
GSA President, ex officio

Gregory Sterling
Dean, Divinity School

Rafi Taherian
Executive Directory, Yale Dining

Lauren Tilton, American Studies ‘16
GPSS representative

Wendy Xiao, MD/PhD ‘17
GSA representative

Catherine Bingchan Xie, School of Medicine ‘22
GPSS representative

George Zdru
Director of University Planning